International Buddha Peace Awards

Myanmar Embassy Hosts Conferring Ceremony of Religious Titles and International Buddha Peace Awards

New Delhi, May 26, 2024

The Myanmar Embassy in New Delhi proudly hosted the conferring ceremony of the esteemed religious titles “Mahasaddhamma Jotikadhaja” and “Saddhammajotikadhaja” on May 26, 2024. These titles, bestowed by the Government of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, honor the exceptional contributions of venerable Buddhist monks in promoting and strengthening Buddhism.

The ceremony was graced by the presence of Most Venerable Sitagu Sayadaw Abhidhajamaharatthaguru Dr. Ashin Nyanissara, the Admonitioner of State and Sangha Raja of Shwekyin Nikaya Buddhist Order, and Most Venerable Kushinagar Sayadaw Abhidhajamaharatthaguru Dr. A.B. Gyaneshwar, President of Kushinagar Bhikkhu Sangha. Distinguished ambassadors from Buddhist countries, venerable monks, and Buddhist devotees from various religious and social organizations also attended this significant event.

His Excellency U Moe Kyaw Aung, Myanmar Ambassador to India, delivered the opening speech, highlighting the immense dedication and efforts of the venerable Buddhist monks in purifying, perpetuating, and propagating the Buddha Sasana in India and other Buddhist countries. Following his address, the Guests of Honour, Sitagu Sayadaw and Kushinagar Sayadaw, delivered their profound remarks.

The Government of Myanmar conferred prestigious religious titles upon three prominent venerable monks:

  1. Ven. Bhikkhu Sanghasena, Founder of Mahabodhi International Meditation Center (MIMC),
  2. Ven. Dr. Dhammapiya, Chancellor of Dhamma Dipa International Buddhist University,
  3. Dr. Baddanta Yasa, Sonuli Myanmar Monastery.

GTTCI Officials Awarded International Buddha Peace Award at Myanmar Embassy Ceremony

In addition to these honors, the International Buddha Peace Awards were presented to four distinguished individuals for their significant contributions to society. Among the recipients was Dr. Rashmi Saluja, Chairperson of the Global Trade & Technology Council of India (GTTCI), recognized for her exemplary efforts in promoting peace and harmony. Dr. Gaurav Gupta, Founder President of GTTCI, and Dr. Pawan Kansal, Founder Member of GTTCI, were also honored for their outstanding work in international trade and fostering global cooperation.

In her acceptance speech, Dr. Rashmi Saluja emphasized the critical importance of peace in today’s world, stating, “In these challenging times, the need for peace is more critical than ever. India has always been at the forefront of promoting peace and harmony, both within the nation and globally. It is our collective responsibility to continue this legacy and work towards a more peaceful world.”

The ceremony underscored the strong diplomatic ties between India and Myanmar and highlighted the shared commitment to fostering peace and understanding among nations. GTTCI remains dedicated to supporting initiatives that contribute to global harmony and collaboration.